Summit 2021.

India’s biggest Annual Inter-Engineering Sports event hosted by MIT-World Peace University committed towards the goal of ‘Nation Building through Sports’.

Reading books might help you gain knowledge and succeed in life, but sports make us understand the importance of principles to be followed in life. Sports teaches us endurance, perseverance, dedication and also makes us understand that we are going to have ups and downs, but we need to keep running right through them. In 2004, Maharashtra Institute of Technology, Pune organized an annual sports meet SUMMIT for all Engineering colleges across Pune. The event received a great response with a footfall of over 1700 students competing in a total of nine events. Since then, Summit has been progressing and thriving and has become one of the biggest National-Level Engineering Sports meet.

  • In 2007, MIT Summit was declared as a State-Level Sports Meet on the occasion of MIT’s Silver Jubilee.
  • In 2009, MIT Summit moved on to become a National-Level Sports Meet. Over 3000 students from 60 colleges took part in the event. The commencement of the event was done by Shree. Mir Ranjan Negi, former Indian Hockey Player and
    MC Mary Kom, Indian Olympic Boxer and Padma Vibhushan Awardee.
  • In 2012, MIT Summit was held for the 7th consecutive time, attracting over 3800 participants from major cities like Mumbai, Chennai, Nashik, etc. The main highlight of the event was the inclusion of Boxing.
  • In 2015, 5200 sportspersons competed against each other in 16 different sports. V.V.S Laxman inaugurated the ceremony and enlightened everyone with his motivating words.
  • In 2019, 4500 players took part in Summit from over 125 colleges. The inauguration ceremony was graced by Smt. Shital Mahajan, Indian Skydiver and holder of 6 world records along with Rutuja Bhosale, Indian Tennis Player.

In these few years, Summit not only helped students to achieve a life balance between studies and sports but also gave rise to some National and International players like Ajay Gandhi and Nitin Gandhi (Badminton), Anand Deshpande and Sushil Nandkarni (Cricket), Abhishek Bobade (Basketball), Ravneet Singh and Vivek Rai (Squash), Kapilesh Bhate (Equestrian Show Jumping), Sumedh Gangal (Golf), Pranav Khule(Powerlifting), and many more.